Museveni shocks Lango as he reshuffles Permanent Secretaries

Mzee Yosam Odur Ebii who's the LCF Paramount Chief handing over a document to President Museveni at Golf Course in Lira three years ago. Looking on [M] is Dr Richard Nam - ex-Premier. File photo.

“We got the foam but missed the substance and it was deliberately done by Museveni to continue disempowering Lango and other regions except Ankole.”

Lira – 16, July 2021: President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, 77, on Thursday appointed new Permanent Secretaries (PSs) including advisors.

In doing so, he dropped some PSs in what he described following “public interest”. Among those he dropped is David Obong  – Lango’s son.

Shortly after, and hours later, some Lango leaders, former leaders shared different feelings.

“I can see Museveni has appointed new Permanent Secretaries and recently new Ministers. I hear Lango cadres jumping high every day we are in government,” Ishaa Otto Amiza, the former Oyam South MP.

“Could someone just help, ‘who is the highest ranking civil servant from Lango’?”

One of the ‘senior’ NRM supporters said on condition of anonymity: “NRM and President Museveni did well in Lango in the general elections; this is the time we are rewarded.”

“Not giving us a PS is sad, it signals something,” he added.

Bonny Otyema Gongson , one of FDC party leaders in Lango says, “…Museveni not bothering nor to remember about Lango sub-region is not any big deal to him and the junta. Why? Museveni knows Lango lost its strong political leadership which was founded in UPC and now it’s a region that cannot afford to put their political acts together.”

“Without any political act that threatens Museveni, rejection and displeasure for our marginalization, he feels covered by his apologists and few cadres within, as much as they also feel it without shame,” he added.

“What is it that is in the PS? Obvious they’re engines in every Ministry; you might have been given Ministers but they also beg from the PS who is a real implementer.”

He concluded: “We got the foam but missed the substance and it was deliberately done by Museveni to continue disempowering Lango and other regions except Ankole.”

By virtue of the Powers given to the President by Article 174 (2) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, he appointed the following as Permanent Secretaries. List below:

  • Head of Public Service & Secretary to Cabinet: Lucy Nakyobe
  • Deputy Head of Public Service: Deborah Katuramu
  • State House Comptroller: Jane Barekye
  • Principal Private Secretary to the President: Dr. Kenneth Omona
  • Principal Private Secretary to H.E. the Vice President: Alex Kakooza
  • Office of the Prime Minister: Keith Muhakanizi
  • Office of the President: Yunus Kakande
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry & Fisheries: David Kyomukama Kasura (Maj. Gen.)
  • Ministry of Defence & Veteran Affairs: Rosette Byengoma
  • Ministry of Education & Sports: Kate Lamaro
  • Ministry of Energy & Economic Development: Batebe Irene
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Vincent Bagiire
  • Ministry of Finance, Planning & Economic Development: Dr. Ramathan Ngobi
  • Ministry of Gender, Labour & Social Development: Aggrey Kibenge
  • Ministry of Health: Dr. Diana Atwiine
  • Ministry of Internal Affairs: Joseph Musanyufu (Lt. Gen.
  • Ministry of Information, Communication, Technology National Guidance: Dr. Amina Zawedde
  • Ministry of Justice & Urban Development: Robert Kasande
  • Ministry of Lands, Housing & Urban Development: Dorcas Okalany
  • Ministry of Local Government: Benjamin Kumumanya
  • Ministry of Trade, Industry & Cooperatives: Geraldine Ssali
  • Ministry of Public Service: Catherine Bitarakwaate
  • Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife & Antiquities: Doreen Katusiime
  • Ministry of Water & Environment: Alfred Okidi
  • Ministry of Works & Transport: Bageya Waiswa
  • Secretary to the Judiciary: Pius Bigirimana
  • Health Service Commission: Mary T. Wenene
  • Public Service Commission: Dr. Godfrey Mbabazi
  • Judicial Service Commission: Dr. Nassali Lukwago
  • Ministry of Science, Technology Innovation: Abolished and retired
  • Ministry of East African Community Affairs: Edith Mwanje
  • Ethics & Integrity: Alex O. Okello
  • Clerk to Parliament: Hon. Adolf Mwesige
  • Inspectorate of Government: Kafeero Rose
  • Education Service Commission: Dr. Asuman Lukwago

Previous America gives Uganda additional shs12.4b for medical oxygen
Next UNAA’s review of constitution with weeks to elections described ‘suspicious’