NRM flag bearers trounce rivals in youth elections in Lango 

Former Miss Tourism Northern Uganda 2019-2020, Ms Shakila Among Mwenyi has beel elected female youth councillor for Lira City. File photo.

For female youth representative (Kole), Ms Peace Bridget Apio (NRM) won with 263 votes against Ms Amongi Juliet of UPC who got 11 votes only.

This election coverage (edition) has been made possible with the entire input of the journalists at Radio Voice of Lango (VOL) 88.0FM in Lira City – says TND News Editorial Chief.

Lira—27 I January 2021: The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has won most positions in the special interest group (SIG) elections held on Wednesday across Lango sub-region.

According to radio Voice of Lango (VOL) 88.0FM report, in Lira district, the district returning officer (DRO) Mr George William Elyao declared Mr Patrick Ogwal Enyiema (NRM) as a representative of the persons with disabilities (PWDs) after scoring 25 votes. He was followed by Mr Alenga Emmanuel, who got 23 votes.

For the workers representative to Lira district council, the same radio station, based in Lira City reports that Mr Ongu Arnal Hamed (NRM) got 44 votes after beating Mr Jordan Obangakene, who got 16 votes.

Ms Beatrice Akello (UPC) was elected as a female youth representative to Lira district council, radio VOL further reports. She obtained 31 votes against Ms Brenda Aceng’s19 votes.

Mr Boniface Okello won the male youth representative seat (Lira) after he obtained 140 votes. Mr Omara Tony caned second with 114 votes.

Former Miss Tourism Northern Uganda, Ms Among Shakila Mwenyi (IND), was declared the winner as the female youth councillor, Lira City.

In Amolatar district, Ms Nam Eve (NRM) who was unopposed in the race won as female youth representative while Mr Orech Ambrose (IND) won as youth male representative with 281 votes beating Mr Otim Calvin (NRM) who got 179 votes.


In Kole district, Mr Hassan Takwana, the District Returning Officer, declared Mr Milton Ogwang Opio (NRM) as a male representative for the elderly. He polled 34 votes to defeat Mr Robert Oming Ajuru (UPC) who received 18 votes.

Mrs Semmy Atala (NRM) won the female representative seat for the elderly with 31 votes, beating Mrs Monday Otoo (IND) who got 21 votes.

For persons with disabilities (Kole), Mr George Odyek (male) (NRM) won after he polled 45 votes, defeating Mr James Opudu and Mr Robert Achai, all independent candidates who got one vote each out of 58 votes cast.

For female representative for PWDs, Ms Sara Akello (NRM) beat the incumbent Ms Kelly Kia (IND) with 45 votes to 3 votes, respectively.

For workers league, Mr Patricia Ajok, an independent candidate won with 23 votes against Ms Agnes Selly Aguti of NRM party who got 5 votes.

For female youth representative (Kole), Ms Peace Bridget Apio (NRM) won with 263 votes against Ms Amongi Juliet of UPC who got 118 votes only.

In Dokolo district, Ms Alaba Gladys of NRM won the female youth council seat with 270 votes, beating Awor Barbra (IND who got 165 votes.

Mr Daniel Okwir was unopposed as male youth councillor for Dokolo.

In Otuke district, Mr Opila Richard (IND) won the male youth councillor seat with 167 votes against Mr Awio Daniel, also an independent candidate who got 109 votes.

For female youth representative, Ms Sharon Akite (NRM) won with 280 votes, beating Immaculate Adur Jane (IND) who got 25 votes.

In Apac district, Ms Adero Joyce (NRM) won as female youth representative with 243 votes. Ms Akullu Doris (UPC) came second with 130 votes.

Mr Ogwang Garry Daniel (NRM) won the male youth representative seat with 247 votes followed by Mr Ami Ronald-UPC 125 votes.

Reporting credit: Radio Voice of Lango in Lira City.

Previous MP Cecelia Ogwal: We should have Lango agenda in our hearts
Next 55% of Americans more worried about getting hacked than being murdered–says Atlas