Min. Kwiyucwiny speaks out as gov’t ‘creates’ 23 new municipalities

Grace Freedom Kwiyucwiny.


Zombo—August, 21 2020: The Ministry of Local Government has made a proposal to upgrade 23 towns into municipalities, TND News has learnt.

In a list of the proposed municipalities seen by this digital newspaper, Zombo, Yumbe, Adjumani and Pallisa are towns to be upgraded.

According to State Minister for Northern Uganda, Hon. Grace Freedom Kwiyucwiny, the proposal is yet to be discussed by cabinet or parliament.

The Minister, has been accused by ‘her opponents’ for opposing the upgrade. She has had this to say.

“I have seen some false and negative propaganda going on about the Minister of Northern Uganda rejecting the creation of Paidha Municipality. It’s a very unfortunate lie which has no future and unfortunately exposes ignorance and malice on the part of the writer on procedures and lack of understanding on how government operates,” she said.

“For information to our good people of Zombo, the Cabinet discussion that resulted into the creation of 14 municipalities sat in 2015 and since all the municipalities have been established,” she added.

However, she says, a new list of “23 municipalities have now been identified by the Ministry of Local Government, and Paidha is on this list.”

The Minister added that this is yet to be discussed by Cabinet or Parliament. “When the time is ripe to discuss the municipalities by government, it will surely be done and their establishment will follow suit.”

“I will support it as i have always done for government and the benefit of our people.”

“Concerning sub counties and town councils, 364 new sub counties and 352 town councils respectively have been discussed by cabinet and thereafter been approved by parliament.”

The Zombo district Woman MP, says Warr and Padea Town Councils, are now gazetted and will be duly funded by government with effect from this financial year.

“The process of electing political leaders in them is ongoing and the government will appoint town clerks and the necessary civil servants to make them operational,” Minister Kwiyucwiny reveals.

Following such an upgrade, Northern Uganda now has three cities—Arua, Gulu and Lira.

Editorial: newsroom@tndnewsug.com or tndnews2012@gmail.com Publication’s WhatsApp No. +256 752 169 448.

Previous 'Engola was unpopular, he had no zeal for NRM' – party spox says
Next 153 Ugandan inmates test positive, among 318 new Covid-19 cases confirmed