Real Story Awards, North Editors Guild: Official launch for March 20

Guest of Honour, Hon. Minister Grace Freedom Kwiyucwiny [middle yellow] with different stakeholders after the official adjournment of 2nd AMC 2019. TND News photo.

Lira In October 2019 in Lira Town, after the 2nd Annual Media Conference, GREAT LAKES CENTER FOR STRATEGIC MEDIA STUDIES [GLCSMS] and TND News’ CEO announced the Introductions of Real Story Awards [RSA] and North Editors Guild [NEG] respectively.

The joint objective[s] of RSA and NEG is to see that media institutions in the region have experts, hardworking and results-driven journalists and managers who are informing the public about what they know.

Real Story Award [RSA] 2020 will recognise journalists in print, online and electronic media for their outstanding journalism works in the last one year.

The awards will go to those whose stories were selected by the Awards Board as significant, exceptional, and should have caused societal change in many ways.

“Two years ago when GLCSMS LLC came into being, I pledged to see an era of new media, improved journalism in the region. Today, I’m happy to announce that next year we will be recognizing excellent female and male journalists in our region,” Founder & CEO, Milton Emmy Akwam said during a press conference in Lira Town last year.

Editors’ Pick:

GLCSMS and TND News announces inaugural Real Story Award

Keynote Address by Dr Benson Obua Ogwal at 2nd Media Conference

He added: “Media should disseminate real story and be mindful of its outcomes. To us, some media houses and journalists in northern and eastern Uganda have done extraordinary journalism and must be recognised.”

All media houses and journalists in Northern and Eastern Uganda – members of the public [stakeholders] are all invited to attend the official launch of both RSA and NEG scheduled for 20, March, 2020 at Gracious Palace Hotel, Lira. Programs start at 8:30am and ends at 12:00pm.


Culture and Tourism, Education, ICT and Innovation, Agriculture, Business, Local Sports, Environment [Climate Change], Health and Sanitation [WASH], Investigations and Human Rights.


Winners from each category: $250

Runner-ups: $150

All winners to receive certificates and plagues

Previous LG minister, Magezi criticizes company constructing Abia Seed SS
Next FSME, Stanbic Bank in negotiation to improve SMEs