Jennifer Musisi, Kampala Executive Director resigns

Resigned: Kampala ED Jennifer Musisi. Courtesy photo

Kampala  – She was appointed as the Kampala Capital City Authority [KCCA] Executive Director in April 2011 by President Museveni. This was after the formation of KCCA from what it was formerly known as Kampala City Council [KCC].

Last year,[2017]  President Museveni, after expiry of her first term, extended Musisi’s term of office until 14 April, 2020.

Shockingly, on Monday, 15th, Musisi wrote  21 pages of her resignation letter to President Museveni through Minister in charge Kampala Capital City Authority – Betty Olive Kamya.

In the letter, she outlines achievements and challenges she faced in developing Kampala City.

Her letter reads, verbatim.

Musisi’s letter to President Museveni.

According to her, she continued that her seven years at the helm of KCCA have been  ‘laborious yet very exciting journey’.

Same Monday, Musisi’s KCCA entered into an Memorandum of Understanding [MOU] with Jhpiego, an affiliate of John Hopkins University in the United States of America to bring affordable healthcare services to Kampala people.

During her first term in office, Musisi and Kampala Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago had terrible misunderstanding among themselves.

With Musisi being an administrator of KCCA, she became so powerful that Lukwago, a political head elected by majority of Kampala voters should consult her first.

While some say she has transformed Kampala and made it cleaner, now, others say her efforts are somewhat far from being commended.

“She has tried and she could have done much better had she not undermined Lord Mayor,” Kato Kavuma, a trader in Kampala told TND News Uganda on Monday evening.

“The development of Kampala is not for one person. All [those appointed and those elected must work in a peaceful environment,” Kavuma added.

She will officially leave office on the 15 December, 2018.

Previous UBL hands over boreholes to ‘sorghum farmers’ in Acholi sub-region
Next Amuru: 32 cases of measles registered in three sub-counties